

St. Andrews Trophy

Real Club de la Puerta de Hierro July 24th & 25th 2025 Madrid, Spain









R&A'	THE ST ANDREWS TROPHY								
	REAL CLUB DE LA PUERTA DE HIERRO 2025								
	PROGRAMME OF EVENTS								
Tuesday 22 July	First Official Practice Day								
(All play From 1st Tee)	Great Britain & Ireland 8:30-8:50 hrs. at 10 minutes intervals Continent of Europe 9:10-9:30 hrs. at 10 minutes intervals								
Wednesday 23 July	Second Official Practice Day								
(All play From 1st Tee)	Continent of Europe 8:30-8:50 hrs. at 10 minutes intervals Great Britain & Ireland 9:10-9:30 hrs. at 10 minutes intervals								
	15:30 Championship Committee Meeting								
	16:30 Captains Meeting								
	18:15 Opening Ceremony								
Thursday 24 July	Day 1 — Match Play								
	Four x Foursomes 8:30 – 9:00 hrs at 10 minutes intervals								
	Eight x Singles 13:30 – 14:40 hrs at 10 minutes intervals								
Friday 25 July	Day 2 – Match Play								
	Four x Foursomes 8:30 – 9:00 hrs at 10 minutes intervals								
	Nine x Singles 13:30 – 14:50 hrs at 10 minutes intervals								
	18:45 hrs (approx.) Closing Ceremony & Prize Presentation								
	20:30 hrs (approx.). Farewell Dinner.								







ROLEX REA

REAL CLUB DE LA PUERTA DE HIERRO

The Real Club de la Puerta de Hierro is located four kilometres away from the centre of Madrid and was founded in 1895. it is considered one of the most important clubs in Europe at the level of facilities

The original golf course was designed by the English H.S. Colt in 1914, one of the main designers that golf has given. it tells among his works fields as prestigious as Wentworth, Royal Lytham, Muirfield or Pine Valley. the original design underwent modifications in 1924 by Tom Simpson and by Colt himself in 1931. 13 holes of this route disseminated by the fields above and down

In 1949 the club made an extension of the tour, incorporating another 9 holes, the work of the English architect Tom Simpson, who lived in the club for three years (1946-1949). the extension to 36 holes occurred in 1968, the work of John Harris and that configured the fields above and below a similar way to the one we know today.

In 1998 there was an integral remodelling of the field below by Robert Trent Jones Jr. to which a reform of bunkers, tees and greens by Kyle Phillips in the field above followed.

At the level of amateurs competitions, the RCPH has housed the Eisenhower Trophy, the Bonallack Trophy, the European Amateur Championship, Mid-Am European Championship, all important tournaments in Spain, etc.

At the professional level, it has hosted the Spanish Open 15 times between 1912 and 1961 and 26 Madrid Open counting among its winners Severiano Ballesteros (3 Madrid Open), Bernard Langer (1 Madrid open), Ian Woosnam (1 Madrid Open) and Sandy Lyle (1 Madrid Open).



ST. ANDREWS TROPHY HISTORY











The St Andrews Trophy is a biennial match between elite male amateur golfers from the Continent of Europe and Great Britain & Ireland (GB&I). First contested in 1956, it is the oldest event involving the European Golf Association (EGA). The match is played over two days with nine-player teams, featuring foursomes matches in the morning and singles matches in the afternoon. Traditionally dominated by GB&I, the event has become more competitive in recent years, with the Continent of Europe winning three of the last five matches. The event will shift to odd years from 2025 when it is played at Real Club de la Puerta de Hierro in Spain.

Many of Europe's top golfers have competed in the St Andrews Trophy. Notable former participants from the Continent of Europe include Sami Valimaki, Guido Migliozzi, Martin Kaymer, Edoardo Molinari, Francesco Molinari, Henrik Stenson, Sergio Garcia, Thomas Björn, Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano, Jose Maria Olazabal, Peter Hanson, Mikko Ilonen, Jean Van de Velde, and Alexis Godillot.

On the Great Britain & Ireland side, notable participants have included Rory McIlroy, Robert Macintyre, Oliver Fisher, Eddie Pepperell, Paul Casey, Luke Donald, Colin Montgomerie, Jamie Donaldson, Padraig Harrington, Shane Lowry, Darren Clarke, Gary Wolstenholme, Sir Michael Bonallack, Peter McEvoy, and Sandy Lyle.

Year	Venue	Winner	Year	Venue	Winner
2025	Real Club de la Puerta de Hierro, Spain		1990	El Saler, Spain	GB & I
2024	Royal Porthcawl, Wales	Europe	1988	St Andrews, Scotland	GB & I
2022	Penati Golf Resort, Slovakia	GB & I	1986	Halmstad, Sweden	GB & I
2020	Cancelled		1984	Saunton GC, England	GB & I
2018	Linna Golf, Finland	Europe	1982	Rosendaelsche, Netherlands	Europe
2016	Prince's GC, England	Halved	1980	Royal St George's, England	GB & I
2014	Barsebäck G&CC, Sweden	GB & I	1978	Bremen, Germany	GB & I
2012	Portmarnock, Ireland	Europe	1976	St Andrews, Scotland	GB & I
2010	Castelconturbia GC, Italy	Europe	1974	Punta Ala, Italy	Europe
2008	Kingsbarns, Scotland	GB & I	1972	Berkshire, England	GB & I
2006	Marianske Lazne, Czech Republic	GB & I	1970	Le Zoute, Belgium	GB & I
2004	Nairn GC, Scotland	GB & I	1968	Portmarnock, Ireland	GB & I
2002	Lausanne GC, Switzerland	GB & I	1966	Bilbao, Spain	GB & I
2000	Turnberry, Scotland	GB & I	1964	Muirfield, Scotland	GB & I
1998	Villa d'Este, Italy	Europe	1962	Halmstad, Sweden	GB & I
1996	Woodhall Spa, England	GB & I	1960	Walton Heath, England	GB & I
1994	Chantilly, France	GB & I	1958	St Cloud, France	GB & I
1992	Royal Cinque Ports, England	GB & I	1956	Wentworth, England	GB & I









ACCOMODATION

HOTEL MELIA CASTILLA ****

Dirección:

C. del Poeta Joan Maragall, 43, Tetuán, 28020 MadridTeléfono: 915 67 50 00Website here



For Accomodation SAT25 Contact Mr. IÑIGO ALFARO Tel. + 34 948241051 Request: <u>alfaro@holegolf.com</u>

Bookings For Teams Officials EGA GB & I RFEG















SCORECARD

REAL CLUB DE LA PUERTA DE HIERRO - CAMPO DE ARRIBA (H.S. COLT - 1914)																					
HOLE	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	OUT	10	11	12	13	14	15	16	17	18	IN	TOT
METERS	178	521	384	354	468	171	349	275	415	3115	380	197	425	369	416	456	328	166	550	3287	6402
YARDS	196	573	422	389	515	188	384	303	457	3427	418	217	468	406	458	502	361	183	605	3616	7042
PAR	3	5	4	4	5	3	4	4	4	36	4	3	4	4	4	5	4	3	5	36	72





PREVIOUS WINNERS











THE ST ANDREWS TROPHY

R&X EGA

GREAT BRITAIN & IRELAND

CAMERON ADAM (SCOTLAND)

ELIOT BAKER (ENGLAND)

DOMINIC CLEMONS (ENGLAND)

CHARLIE FORSTER (ENGLAND)

CONNOR GRAHAM (SCOTLAND)

STUART GREHAN (IRELAND)

LUKE POULTER (ENGLAND)

GAVIN TIERNAN (IRELAND)

TYLER WEAVER (ENGLAND)

TEAM CAPTAIN: DEAN ROBERTSON (SCOTLAND).

TEAM EUROPE (CONTINENT)

ALFONS BONDESSON (SWE)

CLAES THRANE BORREGAARD (DEN)

KRISTIAN HJORT BRESSUM (DEN)

FILIP JAKUBCIK (CZE)

SERGIO JIMENEZ (ESP)

HUGO LE GOFF (FRA)

GUNNLAUGUR ARNI SVEINSSON (ISL)

RICHARD TEDER (EST)

TIM WIEDEMEYER (GER)

TEAM CAPTAIN: CARLOS DE CORRAL (SPAIN).







